Saturday, 29 October 2016


The Kuala Lumpur Closed 2016 Chess Championship (KL CLOSED 2016) concluded at the Kompleks Sukan Rakan Muda Bukit Kiara, KL around 6.15pm today.
After upsets in all rounds save for Round 3, the following players were chosen to represent the Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur in the upcoming November's Inter-State competition in Kuantan, Pahang.

1. Zaidan Zulkipli  (5 1/2pts, CHAMPION-2016 KL Closed).
2. Lye Lik Zang     (5pts, Runners-Up).

3 players i.e. Shreyes Subramaniam, WFM Tan Li Ting & CM Ng Jen Sheng finished level on 4 points. Hence, as announced earlier by KLCA, play-offs had to be conducted.  After the 3-Player Play-offs, the following were chosen:-

3. WFM Tan Li Ting.
4. CM Ng Jen Sheng.

5. The 5th Player will be Kuala Lumpur Chess Association - KLCA President's Pick.
(He/She Will Be Announced Later).

KLCA would like to Thank All Players and Stakeholders who supported the KL Closed 2016. 
Special Thanks goes to Pengarah Jabatan Belia dan Sukan Wilayah Persekutuan, Kuala Lumpur and Complex Manager i.e. En.Marawi. Additionally, KLCA appreciates the support from AB Chess Putrajaya i.e. Hafiz AB Chess Putrajaya and Norazwan.

On KLCA's side - kudos to Organising Secretary Dr. Mohamad Shafiq Ngasiman, Tournament Director Mr. Ng Ling Gee and Deputy Organising Secretary cum Arbiter Amirul HM, as well as members of the Organising Committee- Ooi Li Tao and Sumant Subramaniam and last but not the least Tournament Patron and KLCA President - Dr. Zaidan Zulkipli.

No comments:

Post a Comment